Hansi Lo Wang http://www.kplu.org en The Map Of Native American Tribes You've Never Seen Before http://www.kplu.org/post/map-native-american-tribes-youve-never-seen Finding an address on a map can be taken for granted in the age of GPS and smartphones. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:10:39 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 17362 at http://www.kplu.org The Map Of Native American Tribes You've Never Seen Before An Opera Remembers The Tragedy Of An Asian-American Soldier http://www.kplu.org/post/opera-remembers-tragedy-asian-american-soldier About two years ago, playwright David Henry Hwang turned down an offer to write a play about the brief life and suicide of Army Pvt. Danny Chen.<p>But an opera? He couldn't refuse.<p>"This is a story with big emotions, big primary colors in a way, and big plot events," says Hwang, who wrote the libretto for <em>An American Soldier</em>, a new hourlong opera commissioned by Washington National Opera.<p>Set to premiere on Friday at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., the production is based on news accounts of Chen's life and the investigation into his death. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 21:27:16 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 17154 at http://www.kplu.org An Opera Remembers The Tragedy Of An Asian-American Soldier The American Story, As It Was Reported To The Rest Of The Nation http://www.kplu.org/post/american-story-it-was-reported-rest-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFnSHFFJIf0</p> Sun, 18 May 2014 17:24:54 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 16649 at http://www.kplu.org The American Story, As It Was Reported To The Rest Of The Nation Descendants Of Chinese Laborers Reclaim Railroad's History http://www.kplu.org/post/descendants-chinese-laborers-reclaim-railroads-history East finally met West 145 years ago on America's first transcontinental railroad.<p>The symbolic hammering of a golden spike at Promontory Summit, Utah, completed the connection between the country's two coasts and shortened a cross-country trip of more than six months down to a week.<p>Much of the building was done by thousands of laborers brought in from China, but their faces were left out of photographs taken on that momentous day.<p>Over the years, one photograph in particular from May 10, 1869, has taken root in U.S. Sun, 11 May 2014 01:26:11 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 16491 at http://www.kplu.org Descendants Of Chinese Laborers Reclaim Railroad's History The Harlem Hellfighters: Fighting Racism In The Trenches Of WWI http://www.kplu.org/post/harlem-hellfighters-fighting-racism-trenches-wwi The 369th Infantry Regiment served 191 days under enemy fire in Europe. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 05:41:05 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 15593 at http://www.kplu.org The Harlem Hellfighters: Fighting Racism In The Trenches Of WWI Changing Demographics A Factor In Rhode Island's Gubernatorial Race http://www.kplu.org/post/changing-demographics-factor-rhode-islands-gubernatorial-race Parades, social clubs and awards dinners are part of the routine of political campaigns everywhere. But if you're running to be Rhode Island's next governor, then there's one more stop you just can't miss.<br /> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 16:56:52 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 14742 at http://www.kplu.org Changing Demographics A Factor In Rhode Island's Gubernatorial Race To Play The Part, Actors Must Talk The Talk — In Chinese http://www.kplu.org/post/play-part-actors-must-talk-talk-chinese The success of the Netflix series <em>House of Cards</em> lies in the details.<p>The show has consulted with <a href="http://www.boston.com/business/innovation/blogs/inside-the-hive/2014/02/21/house-cards-called-boston-hacker-gregg-housh-give-series-tech-authentic-touch/vJL9SCuowDJ7VlyE0BgC2O/blog.html" target="_blank">computer hackers</a> and <a href="http://blogs.wsj.com/chinarealtime/2014/02/19/house-of-cards-writer-on-china-u-s-and-power/" target="_blank">political scientists</a> on storylines. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 05:08:27 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 14183 at http://www.kplu.org To Play The Part, Actors Must Talk The Talk — In Chinese Asian-American Contestant, 'Villain' Of 'Jeopardy,' Set To Return http://www.kplu.org/post/asian-american-contestant-villain-jeopardy-set-return If there are any unwritten rules to playing <em>Jeopardy!</em> Arthur Chu may have broken them all.<p>During his four-day winning streak in late January, he sometimes interrupted host Alex Trebek and cut in before the host could finish a sentence. Sat, 22 Feb 2014 03:12:55 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 13969 at http://www.kplu.org Asian-American Contestant, 'Villain' Of 'Jeopardy,' Set To Return After Tour, Medal For WWII Japanese-American Soldiers Returns Home http://www.kplu.org/post/after-tour-medal-wwii-japanese-american-soldiers-returns-home <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C83Vd0Qx3sk</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:52:50 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 13817 at http://www.kplu.org After Tour, Medal For WWII Japanese-American Soldiers Returns Home Immigration Reform Rally Ends In Arrests In Front Of U.S. Capitol http://www.kplu.org/post/immigration-reform-rally-ends-arrests-front-us-capitol <strong>UPDATE October 9,</strong> <strong>2013:</strong> As of early Wednesday morning, all of the demonstrators arrested at Tuesday's rally have been processed and released. A U.S. Capitol Police spokesperson also provided the final tally of protesters arrested, and the article below has been updated to reflect that number.<p><hr /><p>Two hundred demonstrators were arrested at a rally for immigration reform on the National Mall Tuesday. Capitol Police detained the protesters, including Georgia Rep. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 03:39:39 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 10352 at http://www.kplu.org Immigration Reform Rally Ends In Arrests In Front Of U.S. Capitol Immigrants To Be Largest Driver Of U.S. Population Growth http://www.kplu.org/post/immigrants-be-largest-driver-us-population-growth New immigrants will be the main driver of population growth in the U.S. by as early as 2027, according to new <a href="http://www.census.gov/newsroom/releases/archives/population/cb13-89.html" target="_blank">Census Bureau projections</a>.<p>This would be the first time in almost two centuries that new births will not be the largest source of U.S. Wed, 15 May 2013 20:04:40 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 8788 at http://www.kplu.org Immigrants To Be Largest Driver Of U.S. Population Growth