Elizabeth Blair http://www.kplu.org en In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero http://www.kplu.org/post/little-engine-could-some-see-early-feminist-hero "Chug, chug, chug. Puff, puff, puff. Ding-dong, ding-dong."<p>The beloved tale of the little blue engine — who helps bring a broken-down train of toys to the good little boys and girls on the other side of the mountain — has been chugging along for a very long time. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:15:52 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 17624 at http://www.kplu.org In 'Little Engine That Could,' Some See An Early Feminist Hero Fans Of 'The Good Wife' Rocked By [Spoiler Alert] http://www.kplu.org/post/fans-good-wife-rocked-spoiler-alert The CBS legal drama <em>The Good Wife</em> centers on smart, attractive Chicago lawyer Alicia Florrick. She's "the good wife" because she stood by her politician husband when he cheated on her.<p>But the show's most compelling story line has always been between Alicia and another lawyer, Will Gardner. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:17:15 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 15248 at http://www.kplu.org Fans Of 'The Good Wife' Rocked By [Spoiler Alert] Smithsonian Institution Gets A New Director http://www.kplu.org/post/smithsonian-institution-gets-new-director The new head of the Smithsonian Institution was announced Monday. <a href="http://www.cornell.edu/president/about.cfm">David Skorton</a> will leave his job as president of Cornell University to become the institution's 13th secretary since its founding in 1846.<p>Skorton becomes the first physician to lead the Smithsonian. He's a board-certified cardiologist and amateur <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeuZY7uBSG4">jazz musician</a>. Most importantly for the Smithsonian, he's a skilled fundraiser. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 19:46:13 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 14632 at http://www.kplu.org Smithsonian Institution Gets A New Director Online, Researcher Says, Teens Do What They've Always Done http://www.kplu.org/post/online-researcher-says-teens-do-what-theyve-always-done Researcher danah boyd is obsessed with how teenagers use the Internet. For the legions of adults who are worried about them, that's a good thing.<p>With a Ph.D from the University of California, Berkeley, and a masters from MIT, and as a senior researcher with Microsoft, boyd is something of a star in the world of social media. For her new book <em>It's Complicated</em>, she spent about eight years studying teenagers and how they interact online. She says she wrote the book in part to help parents, educators and journalists relax. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 17:22:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 14080 at http://www.kplu.org Online, Researcher Says, Teens Do What They've Always Done Philip Seymour Hoffman: An 'Uncanny' Actor Of Stage And Screen http://www.kplu.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-uncanny-actor-stage-and-screen Actor Philip Seymour Hoffman was <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/02/02/270599816/philip-seymour-hoffman-oscar-winner-found-dead-at-46">found dead on Sunday</a> in his Manhattan apartment. He was 46.<p>Hoffman was steeped in his profession — in film, on stage, in the spotlight and behind the scenes.<p>In 2005, he won the Oscar for best actor for his portrayal of Truman Capote. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 04:51:49 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 13149 at http://www.kplu.org Philip Seymour Hoffman: An 'Uncanny' Actor Of Stage And Screen For Top-Flight Animators, The Gag Is An Art All Its Own http://www.kplu.org/post/top-flight-animators-gag-art-all-its-own <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-Esh4W3dfI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYG5lft0dlQ</p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 21:47:17 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 11329 at http://www.kplu.org For Top-Flight Animators, The Gag Is An Art All Its Own For Super Bowl Ads, More Social-Media Savvy http://www.kplu.org/post/super-bowl-ads-more-social-media-savvy <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfCm9P8naDQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NmIGTTy8pI0</p> Sat, 02 Feb 2013 00:25:27 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 7711 at http://www.kplu.org For Super Bowl Ads, More Social-Media Savvy Comedy's Self-Deprecating Pioneer Phyllis Diller Dies http://www.kplu.org/post/comedys-self-deprecating-pioneer-phyllis-diller-dies A queen of comedy has died. Phyllis Diller had audiences in stitches for more than five decades with her outlandish get-ups and rapid-fire one-liners. She died at her home, where she had been in hospice care after a fall. She was 95.<p>Diller was glamorously outrageous — or at least the character she created was glamorously outrageous, the one who wore wigs that made her look like she had her finger in an electrical outlet, who wore gaudy sequined outfits. Mon, 20 Aug 2012 20:06:44 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 6029 at http://www.kplu.org Comedy's Self-Deprecating Pioneer Phyllis Diller Dies