Mike Pesca http://www.kplu.org en 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl http://www.kplu.org/post/5-points-help-simplify-sundays-super-bowl The chatter, hype and jargon in the weeks leading up to Sunday's Super Bowl XLVIII is more impenetrable than the Seahawk's secondary.<p>Perhaps you've heard the Seattle Seahawks have a running back who enters "Beast Mode." Maybe you've heard that the Denver Broncos' counter to Beast Mode is a defensive lineman <a href="http://sports.yahoo.com/news/from--beast-mode--to--pot-roast--to--pig---a-primer-on-super-bowl-nicknames-011914808.html">nicknamed</a> "Pot Roast."<p>Vociferously debating Beast Mode versus Pot Roast is no longer the exclusive domain of a <a href="http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Su Sun, 02 Feb 2014 20:57:58 +0000 Mike Pesca 13145 at http://www.kplu.org 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl Boxing Maths and Aftermaths: Why Similar Scores Are A Mean System http://www.kplu.org/post/boxing-maths-and-aftermaths-why-similar-scores-are-mean-system Four years ago, Irish boxer Paddy Barnes lost to China's Zou Shiming by a score of 15-0 in Beijing. Today in London, Barnes fought his way back into their match to tie Zou at 15-15 — but he still lost. Fri, 10 Aug 2012 15:51:21 +0000 Mike Pesca 5946 at http://www.kplu.org Boxing Maths and Aftermaths: Why Similar Scores Are A Mean System Britain's Wiggins Starts A Row By Arguing For Bike Helmets http://www.kplu.org/post/britains-wiggins-starts-row-arguing-bike-helmets On the same day cyclist Bradley Wiggins became Great Britain's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetorch/2012/08/02/157781890/wiggin-out-bradley-wiggins-drinks-to-his-gold-medal-and-the-mods-applaud" target="_blank">most-decorated Olympian</a>, Daniel Harris, a 28-year-old cycling enthusiast, was killed when he was struck by a bus at an intersection outside Olympic Park.<p>Wiggins, who also this summer won the Tour De France and had a starring role in the Olympic opening ceremony, commented upon Harris' death and said something that would have, to many in the United States, been seen as occup Sun, 05 Aug 2012 18:50:29 +0000 Mike Pesca 5886 at http://www.kplu.org Britain's Wiggins Starts A Row By Arguing For Bike Helmets Badminton's 'Detrimental' Conduct Rule, And Losing On Purpose http://www.kplu.org/post/badmintons-detrimental-conduct-rule-and-losing-purpose Eight Olympic badminton athletes have been <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetorch/2012/07/31/157682709/badminton-qualifying-matches-descend-into-farce-players-are-booed?ps=comm&ec=mostpopularnews">thrown out of the London Games</a> after being charged by the Badminton World Federation with "not using one's best efforts to win a match" — which is against the rules of the sport. Wed, 01 Aug 2012 14:25:43 +0000 Mike Pesca 5828 at http://www.kplu.org Badminton's 'Detrimental' Conduct Rule, And Losing On Purpose Overturned Judo Result Called A 'Farce' And Parody http://www.kplu.org/post/overturned-judo-result-called-farce-and-parody Judo is a sport of leverage, strength, tactics and cunning. These attributes can appear to the uninitiated to be two people attempting to grab each other, without success, for five minutes. And then when no points are scored, they try to grab each other for another three minutes of overtime.<p>One of these gripping contests — the men's quarterfinals at 66 kg — has become the source of international indignation over a perceived injustice. Mon, 30 Jul 2012 15:55:59 +0000 Mike Pesca 5787 at http://www.kplu.org Overturned Judo Result Called A 'Farce' And Parody