Stephen Thompson http://www.kplu.org en Pop Culture Happy Hour: 'House Of Cards' And Pop Culture Punching Bags http://www.kplu.org/post/pop-culture-happy-hour-house-cards-and-pop-culture-punching-bags How intrepid is <em>Pop Culture Happy Hour</em>'s intrepid Linda Holmes? So intrepid that, when she goes on vacation in February, she heads to even-colder climes, braving the snow-swept Alcatraz that is northern Minnesota. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 19:00:16 +0000 Stephen Thompson 13938 at http://www.kplu.org Pop Culture Happy Hour: 'House Of Cards' And Pop Culture Punching Bags The Good Listener: Leave 'We Built This City' Alone! http://www.kplu.org/post/good-listener-leave-we-built-city-alone <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1b8AhIsSYQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9NTDHjVKQyo</p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:07:41 +0000 Stephen Thompson 13078 at http://www.kplu.org The Good Listener: Leave 'We Built This City' Alone! 2013: The Year In Tiny Desk Concerts http://www.kplu.org/post/2013-year-tiny-desk-concerts For weeks now, we've been compiling lists of 2013's best music — <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/bestmusic2013/2013/12/10/249243871/npr-musics-50-favorite-albums-of-2013">favorite albums</a>, <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/bestmusic2013/2013/12/11/249734685/npr-musics-100-favorite-songs-of-2013">favorite songs</a>, individual staff members' personal Top 10 lists and so on. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 15:58:43 +0000 Stephen Thompson 12091 at http://www.kplu.org 2013: The Year In Tiny Desk Concerts Jason Molina, A Folksinger Who Embodied The Best Of The Blues, Has Died http://www.kplu.org/post/jason-molina-folksinger-who-embodied-best-blues-dead-39 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gBaolYCbyE</p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 21:20:50 +0000 Stephen Thompson 8039 at http://www.kplu.org Jason Molina, A Folksinger Who Embodied The Best Of The Blues, Has Died First Listen: David Byrne & St. Vincent, 'Love This Giant' http://www.kplu.org/post/first-listen-david-byrne-st-vincent-love-giant <em>Audio for this feature is no longer available.</em><p>There's essentially no way for a collaboration between <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15321830/talking-heads">Talking Heads</a>' <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15320822/david-byrne">David Byrne</a> and <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15159199/st-vincent">St. Vincent</a>'s Annie Clark to exceed the sum of its parts. Each artist is distinctive enough, and dominant enough over the work on which he or she appears, that their sensibilities can't be blended so much as stacked in such a way that they coexist simultaneously. Mon, 03 Sep 2012 03:30:55 +0000 Stephen Thompson 6179 at http://www.kplu.org First Listen: David Byrne & St. Vincent, 'Love This Giant' Dirty Three: For Valentine's Day, a wordless love song http://www.kplu.org/post/dirty-three-valentines-day-wordless-love-song As any pessimistic Valentine's Day veteran can attest, the holiday is strewn with land mines: pressure to find someone, pressure to buy the right gifts, pressure to formalize casual relationships, pressure to even remember the damn thing is <em>happening</em>. Music doesn't help matters: Do you send a love song when you're not yet officially in love? What if you accidentally send a love song that everyone else knows was written about a faithful bloodhound? Tue, 14 Feb 2012 14:54:28 +0000 Stephen Thompson 4147 at http://www.kplu.org Dirty Three: For Valentine's Day, a wordless love song