David Welna http://www.kplu.org en What, Exactly, Are U.S. Interests In Iraq's Turmoil? http://www.kplu.org/post/what-exactly-are-us-interests-iraqs-turmoil As the U.S. steers warships closer to Iraq and beefs up its embassy's security in Baghdad with nearly 300 troops, a nagging question has resurfaced.<p>What compelling interests does Washington still have in a nation where all U.S. forces were pulled out 2 1/2 years ago?<p>Three days after Sunni militants calling themselves the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria seized Mosul, Iraq's second-largest city, President Obama paused on the White House lawn and issued a warning.<p>"Terrorists," he said, were being allowed to overrun part of Iraq's territory. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 23:27:14 +0000 David Welna 17218 at http://www.kplu.org What, Exactly, Are U.S. Interests In Iraq's Turmoil? Feinstein Wants CIA To Speed 'Torture Report' Release http://www.kplu.org/post/feinstein-wants-cia-speed-torture-report-release It's been well over a month since the Senate Intelligence Committee voted 11 to 3 to declassify and make public the executive summary and findings of its "Torture Report."<p>But it's not likely that will actually happen anytime soon.<p>The reason? Wed, 14 May 2014 23:01:14 +0000 David Welna 16572 at http://www.kplu.org Feinstein Wants CIA To Speed 'Torture Report' Release In Sex Assault Report, Pentagon Sees Progress — And A Long Way To Go http://www.kplu.org/post/sex-assault-report-pentagon-sees-progress-and-long-way-go The Pentagon issued a study on sexual assaults in the military, reports of which have jumped 50 percent in the past year. Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel says this is a positive sign that more victims trust the system. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 01 May 2014 21:44:01 +0000 David Welna 16360 at http://www.kplu.org An Angry Hearing On The Hill For 'Cockamamie' Twitter-like Network http://www.kplu.org/post/angry-hearing-hill-cockamamie-twitter-network Vermont Sen. Patrick Leahy was incensed that he only learned about the creation of a Twitter-like network in Cuba through press accounts. He had the chance Tuesday to vent his frustration when USAID administrator Rajiv Shah appeared before Leahy's committee. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 21:57:25 +0000 David Welna 15815 at http://www.kplu.org Showing Signs Of Age, Capitol Dome Gets A Face-Lift http://www.kplu.org/post/showing-signs-age-capitol-dome-gets-face-lift When you think of Washington, D.C., what's the first image to pop up?<p>For many, it's likely the U.S. Capitol — or more specifically, the iconic white dome that crowns the Capitol.<p>"It is one of the most, if not the most, recognizable symbols across the globe," said Architect of the Capitol Stephen Ayers, whole job entails maintaining the Capitol dome.<p>As could be said of the Congress that meets below it, the century-and-a-half old dome has seen better days. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:00:42 +0000 David Welna 15355 at http://www.kplu.org Showing Signs Of Age, Capitol Dome Gets A Face-Lift With New Inquiry, Harry Reid Raises Stakes In Senate-CIA Clash http://www.kplu.org/post/new-inquiry-harry-reid-raises-stakes-senate-cia-clash When Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid declared "I support Senator Feinstein unequivocally" the same day she thrashed the CIA on the Senate floor, the question of whether the pugilistic top congressional Democrat from Nevada would leap into that fight seemed less a matter of if than when.<p>A little more than a week later, Reid made his move.<p>He fired off a letter to CIA Director John Brennan informing the top spy that Senate Sergeant at Arms Terrance Gainer would be performing a "forensic examination" of computers and a computer network meant for exclusive use by the Senate Intelligence Com Thu, 20 Mar 2014 23:45:15 +0000 David Welna 15112 at http://www.kplu.org With New Inquiry, Harry Reid Raises Stakes In Senate-CIA Clash Rep. David Camp Releases Tax Overhaul Plan http://www.kplu.org/post/rep-david-camp-releases-tax-overhaul-plan In the three years Republican Rep. David Camp has wielded the gavel of the tax-writing Ways and Means Committee, overhauling the tax code has been his abiding ambition.<p>The last revamping of the tax code was 28 years ago, and facing the prospect of having to relinquish that gavel at the end of this year, Camp declared today the time has come to start the debate on a new tax code overhaul.<p>Camp's plan would cut corporate and individual tax rates — just as his fellow Republicans have long sought. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 23:39:07 +0000 David Welna 14174 at http://www.kplu.org Rep. David Camp Releases Tax Overhaul Plan Boehner Fights Back Against Tea Party, Again http://www.kplu.org/post/boehner-fights-back-against-tea-party-again A high-stakes drama played out over the debt ceiling on Capitol Hill this week. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:08:29 +0000 David Welna 13671 at http://www.kplu.org Boehner Fights Back Against Tea Party, Again House Passes 'Clean' Debt Limit Bill http://www.kplu.org/post/house-passes-clean-debt-limit-bill Tuesday saw a rarity in Congress these days: a "clean" bill.<p>The House passed one to raise the debt limit, a move that avoids a possible default later this month.<p>In the past, House Republicans have used this debate to extract concessions from President Obama and congressional Democrats.<p>But not this time. House Republicans demanded nothing in return. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 00:01:26 +0000 David Welna 13540 at http://www.kplu.org House Passes 'Clean' Debt Limit Bill After 3-Day Retreat, GOP Battle Plan Still Only An Outline http://www.kplu.org/post/after-3-day-retreat-gop-battle-plan-still-only-outline House Republicans headed back to Washington on Friday from a resort along the frozen waters of the Chesapeake Bay. They were there for a three-day retreat aimed at mapping out a legislative strategy for this midterm election year.<p>One of the most pressing issues they face is the need next month for Congress to raise the nation's debt limit. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 22:03:25 +0000 David Welna 13105 at http://www.kplu.org After 3-Day Retreat, GOP Battle Plan Still Only An Outline Pension Cut Angers Senate's Staunchest Military Supporters http://www.kplu.org/post/pension-cut-angers-senates-staunchest-military-supporters In the two-year, $2 trillion budget deal that cleared the Senate last week, one item, worth just one-sixth of 1 percent of that total, was the reason many senators said they voted against it.<p>That item would produce some $6 billion in savings by shaving a percentage point off annual cost-of-living adjustments, and it would apply only to military pensions. Sun, 22 Dec 2013 18:08:59 +0000 David Welna 12003 at http://www.kplu.org Pension Cut Angers Senate's Staunchest Military Supporters They All Voted For DOMA, But Now These Senators Are Split http://www.kplu.org/post/they-all-voted-doma-now-these-senators-are-split The soul-searching over the Defense of Marriage Act went viral last week after Ohio Republican Sen. Sat, 23 Mar 2013 19:31:38 +0000 David Welna 8123 at http://www.kplu.org They All Voted For DOMA, But Now These Senators Are Split The Ron Paul Paradox: GOP Questions His Impact http://www.kplu.org/post/ron-paul-paradox-gop-questions-his-impact Four years ago, Texas Rep. Ron Paul finished fifth in the New Hampshire presidential primary with just under 8 percent of the vote.<p>On Tuesday, he got nearly 23 percent of the vote in the New Hampshire primary, finishing second to former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney in the Republican contest. Fri, 13 Jan 2012 22:12:11 +0000 David Welna 3727 at http://www.kplu.org The Ron Paul Paradox: GOP Questions His Impact