Anastasia Tsioulcas http://www.kplu.org en What Happens When 350 Musicians Meet For The First Time In Brooklyn? http://www.kplu.org/post/what-happens-when-350-musicians-meet-first-time-brooklyn We at NPR Music leave a lot of variables out in the wild when we make Field Recordings. That's especially true when we commission new music for the annual Make Music New York festival, as we have for three years.<p>Since we're not using a traditional stage and people are roaming around, we don't know exactly what the performance will sound like (though we're lucky to work with fantastic engineering colleagues). Wed, 02 Jul 2014 16:32:35 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 17528 at http://www.kplu.org What Happens When 350 Musicians Meet For The First Time In Brooklyn? What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola http://www.kplu.org/post/whats-worth-45-million-or-more-one-viola <em>Update Wednesday, June 25, 2014: A representative from Sotheby's tells NPR that the instrument did not sell "at this time." </em><p>Wednesday, Sotheby's auction house plans to announce the sale of a rare viola made by Antonio Stradivari. The <em>minimum</em> bid is $45 million. If it sells, it will be the most expensive instrument of any kind in history.<p>Here's an old musician joke: How do you keep your violin from getting stolen? Put it in a viola case.<p>The viola has long played second fiddle to its far more popular, higher-pitched sibling, the violin. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:26:09 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 17355 at http://www.kplu.org What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola Coffee And Mambo With Sergio Mendoza Y La Orkesta http://www.kplu.org/post/coffee-and-mambo-sergio-mendoza-y-la-orkesta Many of us at NPR Music fell hard for Arizona's Sergio Mendoza and his band La Orkesta <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/01/09/261088479/sergio-mendoza-y-la-orkesta-globalfest-2014" target="_blank">this year.</a> Together, they mix myriad Latin styles — what Mendoza calls "indie mambo," salted with generous handfuls of cumbia, merengue and ranchera — and then feed all that through a psychedelic prism. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 17:14:54 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 16947 at http://www.kplu.org Coffee And Mambo With Sergio Mendoza Y La Orkesta NPR Music Wants You To Play In A Massive World Premiere http://www.kplu.org/post/npr-music-wants-you-play-massive-world-premiere Sometimes we like to turn things up really loud, especially in the summertime. So for this year's edition of <a href="http://makemusicny.org/" target="_blank">Make Music New York</a>, we commissioned <a href="http://www.sunnyjain.com/" target="_blank">Sunny Jain</a>, founder of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/146811792/red-baraat" target="_blank">Red Baraat</a>, to write a new song that would kick off the season in massive, marching-band style. Thu, 22 May 2014 17:12:13 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 16774 at http://www.kplu.org NPR Music Wants You To Play In A Massive World Premiere In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women http://www.kplu.org/post/2014-classical-world-still-cant-stop-fat-shaming-women <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPquOVVEwws</p> Tue, 20 May 2014 17:29:22 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 16705 at http://www.kplu.org In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) http://www.kplu.org/post/how-do-you-sweep-ivy-league-practice-viola-really By now, you may have <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/01/297879597/new-york-student-is-accepted-to-all-8-ivy-league-schools" target="_blank">heard</a> about Kwasi Enin, the impressive young man from Long Island who has been accepted into the classes of 2018 at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, Yale (all eight Ivy League universities) as well as Duke and three campuses of the State University of New York. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:51:57 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 15640 at http://www.kplu.org How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings http://www.kplu.org/post/field-recording-bonus-track-silk-road-swings We had so much fun taping cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble's <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/294345739/yo-yo-ma-and-the-silk-road-ensemble-horse-around-in-brooklyn" target="_blank">Field Recording</a>, we couldn't stop at just one selection, so we recorded the group's four talented percussionists in a deep groove.<p>They're playing a piece written by Shane Shanahan called <em>Saidi Swing</em>. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 13:17:29 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 15319 at http://www.kplu.org A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings Welcome To Yo-Yo's Playhouse http://www.kplu.org/post/welcome-yo-yos-playhouse When you're lucky enough to have cellist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15995808/yo-yo-ma" target="_blank">Yo-Yo Ma</a> and members of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/144696932/the-silk-road-ensemble-globalfest-2012" target="_blank">Silk Road Ensemble</a>, some of the world's premiere instrumentalists and composers, gather for an afternoon of offstage music making, you've got to think long and hard about where to put them. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 13:16:13 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 15318 at http://www.kplu.org Welcome To Yo-Yo's Playhouse In The First Violins — At Least For One Night http://www.kplu.org/post/first-violins-least-one-night <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tm5BoFihAJw</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 16:41:43 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 15086 at http://www.kplu.org In The First Violins — At Least For One Night Music Takes Center Stage In Oscar-Nominated Documentaries http://www.kplu.org/post/music-takes-center-stage-oscar-nominated-documentaries <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrXHcQyixTE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twB2zAOzsKE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kgRq_pGN2g</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 17:56:32 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 14252 at http://www.kplu.org Music Takes Center Stage In Oscar-Nominated Documentaries On A Chilly Factory Floor, Yuja Wang's Piano Sizzles http://www.kplu.org/post/chilly-factory-floor-yuja-wangs-piano-sizzles Chinese-born pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/122868506/yuja-wang" target="_blank">Yuja Wang</a> isn't one to do anything in half measures. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:53:56 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 13820 at http://www.kplu.org On A Chilly Factory Floor, Yuja Wang's Piano Sizzles We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too http://www.kplu.org/post/we-love-him-more-twizzles-charlie-white-plays-violin-too It's no secret that <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/theedge/2014/02/17/278549740/americans-davis-and-white-win-gold-in-ice-dancing" target="_blank">gold-winning</a> American ice dancers Meryl Davis and Charlie White have become favorite faces in Sochi. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:47:34 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 13809 at http://www.kplu.org We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too Sex, Drugs And Wandering Batons: Classical Musicians (Finally) Get Some Screen Time http://www.kplu.org/post/sex-drugs-and-wandering-batons-classical-musicians-finally-get-some-screen-time <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KBwI6U8ZlFE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEoM7bM7KVw</p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 20:46:37 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 13622 at http://www.kplu.org Sex, Drugs And Wandering Batons: Classical Musicians (Finally) Get Some Screen Time Fiddler On The Slopes http://www.kplu.org/post/fiddler-slopes Classical music has managed to take center stage at sports events in the last few weeks. Soprano Renée Fleming <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/2014/01/21/264553311/guess-whos-singing-the-national-anthem-at-the-super-bowl" target="_blank">sang the National Anthem</a> at the Super Bowl two weekends ago. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 16:56:20 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 13553 at http://www.kplu.org Fiddler On The Slopes Watch Musicians Elevate A Trip To A Big-Box Store http://www.kplu.org/post/watch-musicians-elevate-trip-big-box-store <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86ukcgSnME0</p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 22:39:10 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 12940 at http://www.kplu.org Watch Musicians Elevate A Trip To A Big-Box Store